Karlee Verna Laudzevics was a founding member of Perth Youth Theatre in 2002/3 and performed in many of our inaugural theatre schools. Over the next few years she worked with Trevor and Katrina on various shows and productions including, ‘Godspell’, ‘A Tribute To The Blues Brother’s’, ‘A Tribute To Sister Act’ and was the choreographer for PYT’s production of ‘A High School Musical 2’ in 2008.

Karlee’s mum, Ingrid, was also involved with us as a designer, costumier and scenic artist. Over the years we all became good friends.

Karlee went over east a few years ago to continue her studies in the performing arts sector – committed, dedicated and persistent she made lots of friends and was destined for a wonderful career ‘treading the boards’.

Sadly, back in November 2013, Karlee was diagnosed with an extremely rare form of cancer and just like that was given 2 weeks to live. Ever the fighter, she managed to turn that into 7 weeks. The final curtain closed mid-January 2014.

We shall henceforth honour her by presenting an annual award to one Perth Youth Theatre member for dedication, passion and commitment to performing arts.

We would like to congratulate our Karlee Award Winners so far

2014 Amber Radalj 

2015 Hayleigh French-Bluhm

2016 Madelaine Batten

2017 Hannah Logan

Thank you for your hard-work, dedication, passion and commitment to the performing arts and the Perth Youth Theatre. You continue to  inspire many performers to 'find themselves on stage'.


5th Annual Karlee Nominees for 2018

Ali Tognini

Romy Ezekiel

Bram Ezekiel

Emily Mackenzie

Anna Pickens

Chelsea Rubie

Alannah Campbell

Neve Jaffray

Hannah Chamberlain

Jacob Miles

Billy Jaffray

Ellen Grace Hobday

Chloe Christiansen

Rosie Dagless & Laura Marum

Charlotte-Berrisford Thompson

Connor French-Bluhm